Under 15 J G Craig Team

J. G. Craig Under 15 Competition

The Ormond Cricket Club would like to extend an invitation to any under 15 cricket players to attend our series of selection trials for the J. G. Craig Competition (formerly the R.M. Hatch Competition).

Each year the Victorian Sub-District Cricket Association (VSDCA) runs the J.G. Craig Competition for Under 15 cricket players. It is recognised as the premier Under 15 cricket competition in Victoria and is conducted in January each year. Games are played on the professionally prepared turf wickets of the 28 Sub-District Cricket Clubs around Melbourne and to be eligible to play in the 2020 competition, players must be under 15 years of age as at the 1st September, 2020.

The competition was known as the R M Hatch Competition for more than 50 years but in 2014/15 it was re-named the J G Craig Competition after Ormond and VSDCA legend, John Craig. John scored more than 7,000 runs in the VSDCA and was part of 6 premierships at Ormond. As such, the club has a special connection with the competition and the club has enjoyed considerable success in the competition over recent years having won in 2017/18, 2016/17 and 2007/08. We were also runners up in 2008/09 and semi- finalists in 2005/2006, 2006/2007 and 2013/14. The club was also quarter-finalists in 2010/2011.

We have historically fielded a team that is a combination of the best current Ormond junior under 15 players together with juniors from other metropolitan clubs in the south eastern suburbs of Melbourne plus country Victoria.

The Ormond J. G. Craig Representative Team is coached by experienced senior player, Michael Cove and selection trials are conducted at the Bailey Park nets (in Gardeners Rd, East Bentleigh at the back of GESAC on East Boundary Rd) (Melway Ref 68 K12)

The trial sessions for 2019/20 season are as follows:

Thursday 12th September 2019
Ormond CC
EE Gunn Reserve, Foch St. Ormond
Thursday 26th September 2019
Ormond CC
EE Gunn Reserve, Foch St. Ormond
Tuesday 1st October 2019
Cricket HQ
51-53 Levanswell Rd. Moorabbin
Thursday 10th October 2109
Ormond CC
EE Gunn Reserve, Foch St. Ormond
Sunday 20th October 2109
Ormond CC
EE Gunn Reserve, Foch St. Ormond
Sunday 27th October 2019
Ormond CC
EE Gunn Reserve, Foch St. Ormond

The objective of these selection trials is to:

  • Select a Competitive Squad of 13 Players
  • Provide Quality, Supportive Coaching from Suitably Qualified Coaches
  • To give the players an opportunity to play on quality turf wickets.

The final squad will be finalised and announced in the last trial session and they will then participate in a final pre-Christmas training session on Thursday December 19. Training will resume in early January with the date to be confirmed. Please note that players who are selected must ensure they are available for all matches (see right hand panel) including finals.

We welcome all eligible under 15 cricketers to attend our selection trials. They should attend and assess whether their skill levels are comparable to those of other players at the trials. The final squad will be selected on ability not age.

Matches are 40 overs per team and games start at 10am and finish at 4.20pm with a 40 minute lunch break scheduled from 12.50pm. Ormond competes in the South Group against Brighton, Caulfield, Malvern, Moorabbin, Oakleigh and Elsternwick.  After the six preliminary rounds, the two top teams in the group progress to the quarter finals where they play against the top ranked teams of the North, East and West Groups.

The club offers excellent training and match day facilities with the final squad members receiving a team playing shirt, shorts and cap. Players are to provide their own cricket gear, drink bottle and sunscreen. Transport to and from matches will be organised for the players and we are conscious of the disruption to family holidays. Our objective is to give every player in the final squad a “fair go”, however, we will not pursue this objective to the detriment of the more talented players.


All batsmen and wicket-keepers must wear helmets both in practice and in matches. In addition, fielding restrictions apply with no fieldsmen (other than those in the slips cordon) fielding within 11 yards of the batsmen.

For more information contact our Team Manager:

Pat Camm on 0418 342 700 or

Training Attire & Equipment

  • White playing shirt (preferably club shirt) or club training shirt
  • Navy or black shorts or club shorts
  • Rubber-soled cricket shoes
  • Hat (club hat or white cricket hat – no other hat is allowed).
  • Drink bottle
  • Cricket equipment (bat, pads, gloves, etc)

J. G. Craig Shield – 2020 Ormond Match Schedule

Round Day / Date Match
1 Tuesday 7 January 2020 Ormond vs Malvern

Home Game - EE Gunn Reserve Main Oval 10am
2 Wednesday 8 January 2020 Moorabbin vs  Ormond

Moorleigh Community Village Reserve 10am
3 Thursday 9 January BYE vs
4 Sunday 12 January Ormond vs Brighton

Home Game - EE Gunn Reserve Main Oval 10am
5 Tuesday 14 January Caulfield vs Ormond

Caulfield Park (Oval 1) 10am
6 Wednesday 15 January Ormond vs Elsternwick

Home Game - EE Gunn Reserve Main Oval 10am
7 Thursday 16 January Oakleigh vs Ormond

G.W. Nicoll Reserve Oakleigh 10am
Quarter Final Tuesday 21 January 2020
Semi Final Thursday 23 January 2020
Grand Final Sunday 26 January 2020

Interested in joining our team?

Message Us


Copyright © 2020 Ormond Cricket Club. Powered by Oncord